shani4jc

Best Dad Ever

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Today my daughter shared a story with me that broke my heart.  She told me about a little one and a half-year old boy that we know whose parents are separated.  Early this week, the parents had an argument and the dad left the house.  The little boy was in the front yard with his grandmother when the dad walked out. The little boy, upon seeing his dad, started calling to him.  His dad just walk right on by and didn’t acknowledge the little boy at all.  The dad continued out of the yard and down the street.  The little boy kept calling, “Daddy, Daddy, Daddy” but his dad didn’t even glimpse back at him.  Pretty soon, the little boy was crying and screaming for his dad.  As my daughter told me this story, my eyes filled with tears.  First because I cannot imagine a parent ignoring their child like that. Second because my daughter was on the verge of bursting into tears herself.  She was heartbroken for the little boy.  She said, “Why couldn’t his dad at least have patted him on the head and told him he would see him later?” I’ll admit I have no answer for her.  I can’t fathom it myself.  She then talked about the fact that her dad always makes sure to say good-bye to her every time he leaves to go to work or anywhere for that matter and he always has.  My children and I are so blessed to have my husband in our lives.  He is a phenomenal husband and dad.  He truly loves us and does everything in his power to take care of us and provide for us.  When I hear stories like the one about the little boy, I can do nothing but thank God for blessing us with my husband because I know that there are so many children who are not loved and cared for by their parents as they should be.  I know that there are children who don’t even know who their real dad is.  And it’s heart breaking!  However, no matter what type of father children have on this earth, they have a Father in heaven who loves them and cares for them more than anything they can even imagine.  They may not know their earthly dad, but they can know their heavenly Father…and they can be certain that He knows them.  Their earthly dad may walk by them and not speak to them, but their heavenly Father will never ignore them.  He will always want to be involved in their lives.  He will always love them and do everything He can to give them the very best.

“I will be a Father to you, and you shall be My sons and daughters, says the Lord Almighty.”  2 Corinthians 6:18

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

October 2012
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
