shani4jc

Ask For the Double Portion

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Today on the radio, I heard a pastor speaking about Elijah and Elisha.  Elijah was a man who followed God.  He was a man who lived in a way that God’s power and might were evident. He accomplished amazing things in his life because of his faithfulness to the Lord. At the end of his life, Elijah asked Elisha what he could do for him before he was taken away.

“Elisha said, ‘Please let a double portion of your spirit be upon me.” 2 Kings 2:9

Elijah told him he had asked a hard thing, but he agreed that he would grant him a double portion if Elisha saw him when he was taken from him, but if he didn’t, he would not receive the double portion.  As it happened, Elisha did see Elijah taken into heaven by a whirlwind, so he received the double portion blessing.  The pastor on the radio pointed out that Elisha knew what he wanted and he was not afraid to ask for it.  He wanted more than the usual…more than the normal!  He was greedy in his asking, but because of his boldness, he received what he asked for.  The pastor’s question and challenge to the audience was “What are you asking God for?”  When you ask God for things, do you ask for the usual or the normal? Do you ask for mediocre because you’re afraid to ask for the double portion?  Do you dare step out and ask Him for something beyond what you can even fathom or imagine possible or do you ask Him for things that are safe?  When I thought about his questions, I realized that I most often just ask for the usual or normal.  I seldom dare to ask for the things that I think are beyond my wildest dreams.  Then I asked myself why don’t I ask for the double portion and why don’t I dare to ask for the impossible?  I should because my God wants to bless me beyond measure and He is the God of the impossible.  What about you?  Do you dare to ask or are you stuck living with mediocre?  What would happen if we all starting asking God for more?  I have a feeling that He would be overjoyed to give us more!  I have a feeling that He would completely blow our minds away with the blessings He would pour out on us.  I have a feeling He’s just waiting for someone to ask so He can give. I don’t know about you, but I am going to dare to ask and see what happens!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

October 2012
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
