shani4jc

To Infinity and Beyond

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Each of my children had a favorite movie as a child that they would ask to watch over and over and over. My oldest daughter loved “101 Dalmatians”, my middle daughter loved “The Aristocats”, and my son loved “Toy Story.”  They watched them so often that they  soon knew ever single word in the movie.  I cannot count how many times we had to pretend to be characters from the movie and act out scenes.  And believe me, the reason I know they knew all of the lines is because they knew exactly what every character should say and when he/she should say it.  My husband and I were often corrected when we messed our lines up.  We still laugh to this day when we reminisce over these precious times when they were little.  As I said, my son’s favorite movie was “Toy Story” and he loved Buzz Lightyear with a passion. Anytime we acted out the movie, he was Buzz Lightyear.  He had all of the character toys, but his Buzz went with him wherever he went.  He had Buzz Lightyear clothes, pajamas, etc….you name it, he had it! (I shouldn’t bear this secret because he’s now a strapping 17-year-old on the verge of adulthood, but if you look in his bathroom, you will find a Buzz Lightyear toothbrush and Toy Story toothpaste that he received as a gag gift…and you will be able to tell that he uses them…yet another precious memory tucked deep in his mother’s heart!) He played “Toy Story” almost all day every day, whether anyone else played along or not. He was famous for putting on his Buzz Lightyear costume (or pinning a towel to the back of his shirt if he was desperate) and jumping off of every piece of furniture he could and shouting as loudly as possible, “to infinity and beyond” which is Buzz Lightyear’s signature phrase. Pardon me…that should be “flying” off of every piece of furniture…Buzz flew, not jumped.  He went through a very long period of time when he had a continual scrape on the bridge of his nose because he would fly off the back of our couch headfirst into the carpet and come up with a lovely carpet burn across his nose.  I think in at least three sets of family pictures, I have used make-up to cover up his scrape.  (probably another thing I shouldn’t share about him, huh?) Anyway, my son truly thought he could fly.  He was convinced he could go “to infinity and beyond” with no problem.  As I was reminded of this today, I couldn’t help but smile at the memories of my baby boy, now all grown up, flying through our home shouting “to infinity and beyond” at the top of his lungs.  I also smiled when I thought about the fact that we have a Savior who loves us “to infinity and beyond”  He loves us more than we will ever be able to comprehend this side of heaven.  He would do anything to prove His love for us…and He did!  He gave His life for us on the Cross as the ultimate act of love.  No matter what you’ve done, no matter how far you’ve run away from Him, no matter if one single person on this earth loves you or not…Jesus loves you with an eternal love.  If you asked Him how much He loved you, He may very well say, “to infinity and beyond.”

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” John 3:16

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 982 other followers

Archives

May

October 2012
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
