shani4jc

Trouble With the Curve

Posted on: 7-15-112012

My husband and I saw the movie “Trouble With the Curve” last night.  One of the characters in the story is a baseball scout who is sent to scout a young man who dreams of playing in the major leagues.  The scout is not persuaded, however, because he says the young man’s hands drift, which causes him not to be able to hit a curve ball.  As I thought about the scout’s words, I realized, that I, too, sometimes have trouble with the curves…not because my hands drift, but because my heart does.  When I set my heart directly on God and focus on Him, I am able to handle the   difficulties and problems that come at me, or the “curves” that life may throw at me.  However, when I allow my heart to “drift” and focus on other things, I cannot handle them.  I can keep swinging my bat, so to speak, but if my focus drifts away from God, I will strike out every time.  Only when I set my heart on God will I ever be able to handle the curves!

“I have set the Lord always before me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved.” Psalm 16:8

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

September 2012
F S S M T W T
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
