shani4jc

Missing Out on the Promised Land

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Moses was chosen by God to lead His people, the Israelites, from Egypt, where they had been oppressed in slavery, through the desert to the Promised Land. The journey from Egypt to the Promised Land should have only taken the Israelites about two to three weeks, but due to a lot of rebellion on their part, the journey ended up taking forty years.  I can only imagine how much patience it must have taken Moses to lead these people for this length of time, especially when they whined and complained about the hardships and said that they wanted to go back to Egypt and be slaves so at least they would have food and water.  Moses was very compassionate towards these people…to the point that when God wanted to strike them because of their rebellion and complaining, Moses interceded for them and asked God to spare them.  I, myself, probably would have told God to go ahead and strike them and I would have been more than happy to help.  Moses exhibited great love and patience for forty years, but he finally must have reached his breaking point with the Israelites because in Numbers 20, we can read about the last time they cried out because they did not have water.  We have to realize that God has provided them water for all of this time, but here they are again, complaining, instead of trusting! (Sounds a lot like the person I see in the mirror each day, but that’s a whole different blog for another time) God gives Moses specific instructions to take his rod and go stand before the rock and speak to it, causing water to come forth from the rock.  Moses took his rod and stood before the rock, but instead of speaking to it, he addressed the people of Israel.  Some translations of the Bible record that he called them “Marah” which means “deliberately defiant” in Hebrew.  Then, he struck the rock with his rod two times.  Water flowed out in abundance, but Moses would have a grave consequence for defying the instructions of the Lord.  Because he did not do what the Lord had commanded him to, God told Moses that he would not be allowed to enter the Promised Land. After all of those years leading and supporting this group of people who whined, complained, and rebelled, Moses was not going to get to enter the land that he had been so desperately trying to get them to. I don’t know what Moses said or thought about the consequences for his actions, but I think I would have had something to say about that…and it probably wouldn’t have been very nice!  I wonder if he thought the consequences were too severe.  I wonder if he hoped someone would intervene for him as he had done for the Israelites numerous times.   As I think about Moses and what he missed out on because of his sin, I wonder what Promised Lands I have missed out on, am missing out on, or will miss out on because of my sin.  What blessings am I missing because of my rebellion? Are there things I work so hard for that I will never see come to fruition because of my insistence to do things my way?

“Then the Lord spoke to Moses and Aaron, ‘Because you did not believe Me, to hallow Me in the eyes of the children of Israel, therefore you shall not bring this assembly into the land which I have given them.” Numbers 20:12

“Your iniquities have turned these things away, and your sins have withheld good things from you.”  Jeremiah 5:25

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

September 2012
F S S M T W T
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
