shani4jc

Meeter of Our Needs

Posted on: 7-15-112012

My husband sometimes has to sit me down and talk to me about my inability to say “No” when people ask me to do something.  Without his help and gentle prodding, I can easily find myself taking on more than I can handle without completely exhausting myself.  I admit it…I don’t like to disappoint anyone.  I don’t like feeling like I let them down or that they needed my help and I wasn’t there to provide it.  But, it’s foolish to think that we can do everything for everyone and not have a price to pay somewhere along the way.  Some of you may share this tendency with me and really struggle with saying no because you really want to help everyone you encounter and meet every need they have.  Or, maybe you don’t have any trouble telling anyone no, but you’re the person who is exhausting that person who can’t say no. You may not even realize you’re doing it, but you continually have a list of “needs” that you want them to take care of for you, without ever taking their needs into consideration.  You may actually come to depend on their help so much that you would be devastated if they did tell you no.  Both of these types of people have forgotten one very important thing: God is the One who we should turn to in order to have our needs met.  Yes, He does work through people to meet these needs, but ultimately, He is responsible for taking care of His children.  For those like me, we have to learn that God does call us to help people, but He never overloads us to the point that we wear ourselves out.  For those who always depend on someone else to help them, you have to realize that it’s unfair to put the weight of a burden that only God can handle on another person.  There is nothing wrong with being helpful or needing help, but it’s very important to keep our perspective focused on the only One who can truly meet our needs.

“My God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

September 2012
F S S M T W T
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
