shani4jc

A Little Goes A Long Way

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Recently, I’ve been undergoing some trials in my life.  The Lord must have known that I needed a little bit of help to keep fighting the good fight of faith because three different people I know have done or said something very kind to me this week that brought me more encouragement than they will ever know.  First, I received a message on my Facebook which encouraged me to continue pursuing something that God has laid on my heart.  Second, I spoke with a friend on the phone who knew I was going through some difficulties.  She listened very patiently and shared some godly wisdom with me and encouraged me to keep walking in faith and just wait for the Lord to act on my behalf.  Third, a friend simply messaged me know that she was praying for me after reading an earlier blog I wrote about the trials I am going through.  She also said two words after that which really meant the world to me.  She wrote, “God knows.”  Two very simple words, but what power they possess.  Those two words have stayed with me over the past few days and each time I feel overwhelmed by the situation I’m going through, I just tell myself, “God knows.”  What hope and assurance we can find in that truth!  When I think of these acts of kindness, I’m sure that none of the people who blessed me really knew how much their actions would mean to me.  We tend to think that we have to do something really elaborate to make a difference in someone’s life.   But the truth is, all we have to do is let someone know we’re thinking of them in order for them to know we care.  We have opportunities each day to perform acts of kindness for others.  Sometimes it may be as simple as speaking a kind word to them, giving them a hug, letting them know we’re praying for them, or maybe just giving them a smile to brighten their day. We never know the impact that these seemingly insignificant things may have on someone’s day or even their life.

“No act of kindness, however small, is ever wasted.”  Aesop
“Bear one another’s burdens and so fulfill the law of Christ.”  Galatians 6:2

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

September 2012
F S S M T W T
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
