shani4jc

The Sting of Death

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Yesterday when I went to get gas for my car, I was stung by a bee that was sitting on the nozzle of the gas pump.  As I wrapped my hand around the nozzle, I must have made the bee really angry and it stung me with everything it had.  At first, I couldn’t even figure out what was happening.  It seemed as if the nozzle was burning my hand.  When I let go, I saw the bee fly away and the stinger still sticking out of my pinky finger.  I pulled the stinger out, shook my hand, and proceeded to get my gas.  The whole time, my finger felt like it was on fire. By the time I finished getting gas, I looked down at my finger and it was swollen to about twice its normal size.  I couldn’t move it or bend it, and it was a lovely shade of red!  By the time I got in my car, I was also sick at my stomach.  I put some ice on my finger and went on my way, still not feeling well.  When I arrived at my next destination, my finger was still burning.  The only relief I could get was if I kept ice on it.  It continued to swell.  I went to the pharmacy and was told that I was probably having an allergic reaction to the bee sting.  It’s a little unnerving to be told to get to the emergency room immediately if you start feeling like you’re having difficulty breathing. As I drove home that evening, finger still swollen and burning,I was thinking about the following verse:

“Give thanks in all circumstances for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”  1 Thessalonians 5:18

So, I tried to think of reasons to be thankful about this bee sting.  I came up with a few, such as the fact that the bee stung me on my right hand and not my left…I’m left-handed so that would have been even more difficult, the fact that I could’ve had a worse reaction and my throat could’ve closed, etc.  Then, I thought of one that really made me happy.  I remembered the fact that, in Christ, I will never have to face the sting of death.  He has already done that for me on the cross!  Because He died in my place, I am able to live with Him forever. If Jesus doesn’t return before my physical death, I will one day face that, but my physical death will only mean that I have stepped into eternal glory at the foot of my Savior. And I know that one look at my Savior’s face will be worth that death!

“Oh Death, where is your sting?  Oh Hades, where is your victory? The sting of death is sin, and the strength of sin is the law.  But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.”  1 Corinthians 15:55-56

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

August 2012
F S S M T W T
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
