shani4jc

Where Does Your Focus Lie?

Posted on: 7-15-112012

I have a confession to make…I love to read!  Ask my husband and he can attest to the fact that I spend a lot of time each day reading…sometimes with such enthusiasm that I forget the rest of the world around me.  When I really get involved in a book, nothing is doing except that I am finishing it.  This happened to me tonight.  A couple of times I had the fleeting thought that I probably needed to put my book down and do something a little more productive, but I just couldn’t put it down.  Everyone in my family was gone somewhere and it was storming outside…perfect conditions to curl up with my cat and read to my heart’s content.  So, that’s exactly what I did…I read to my heart’s content until I finished my latest book.  Now, while there’s nothing wrong with reading in and of itself, I, myself, have to be very careful about how much time I spend reading and what I am reading. For the most part, I only read Christian books, so it’s not necessarily the content of the books I read that are my problem; instead it’s the fact that I can get so caught up in reading them that I do not make time to read the Bible which should be the one book I always make time for. We all can go overboard in areas of our lives and pay more attention to these areas than to God.  For me, I can give more credence to my favorite authors than to the One who is the Author of my life.  For others, it may be that they pay more attention to the knit of their clothes than to the One who knit them together.  For yet others, it may be that they spend too much time worrying over the make of their car instead of focusing on the Maker of the stars.  Some may obsess over how much money they have in the bank instead of concentrating on how much treasure they are building up in heaven.  We all focus on something…we just have to understand the value of what we’re focusing on.  Is our “treasure” going  to have eternal reward or will it be destroyed?  Is it going to benefit us, as well as others, for eternity or is it only of temporal value? When we ask ourselves these questions, often we see the need to change our focus.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:19 – 21

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

August 2012
F S S M T W T
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
