shani4jc

A Still Small Voice

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Today, I heard someone share something she had seen on Facebook that stuck with me for the rest of the day.  She saw a post that said the following:

“Did you ever notice that the same letters are in the word ‘listen’ that are in the word ‘silent’?”

I don’t know about you, but I often have a hard time listening because I have a hard time being silent.  I tend to have a mouth that works overtime!  And even if I can manage to keep my mouth closed for any length of time, I am hardly ever without noise around me.  I have teenagers at my house which equals a lot of noise.  There are usually multiple TVs and/or stereos playing.  Cell phones ring, beep, and ding constantly.  In fact, I’m so accustomed to noise that I almost don’t even know how to deal with silence.  In the rare moments of silence that I do experience, I find myself uncomfortable.  I start looking for something to turn on to make noise.  I have to ask myself how I’m ever supposed to hear from God if there is never an opportunity for Him to speak.  We have to learn to be silent in order to hear.  There is a story in 1 Kings 19 that tells about Elijah hearing from God.  As the story goes, a great and strong wind passed by Elijah, but God wasn’t in the wind.  Then, an earthquake came, but God wasn’t in the earthquake.  Then, a fire came, but God wasn’t in the fire.  Finally, a still small voice came and it was in the still, small voice that God spoke to Elijah.  If I never allow silence in my life, I may miss many opportunities to hear God.  If He speaks to me in a still small voice, I need to make sure that I can hear Him.  Learning to allow silence may take some getting used to, but hearing His voice would be so worth it.

“…and after the earthquake, a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire; and after the fire a still small voice…” 1 Kings 19:12

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

July 2012
F S S M T W T
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
