shani4jc

He Would Still Be God

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Tonight marks a very special celebration for my blog…this is my 365th post.  It has taken me a little over a year to do it, but I have completed a whole year’s worth of blogs.  As I look back over the year, I am beyond amazed at what God and I have been through.  This is a year marked a little more by learning through the tough times, as opposed to rejoicing in the good times.  It’s a year that I’ve walked in the valley more than I’ve stood on the mountain top, but looking back now, I wouldn’t change it if I could because of the lesssons God has taught me in the valley.  The lesson I will treasure above all is that I have learned that God is still God no matter what.  It doesn’t matter if I’m on the top of the highest mountain or in the pit of the deepest valley…He is still God!  He remains God when I have it all together, and He remains God when I am falling completely apart.  He is in control when life is going smoothly, and He is just as much in control when everything in life turns upside down and inside out.  There is a song that we sing at church called “Still God”.  The first time I heard it, it was all I could do not to burst into tears because I was in the midst of one of the most difficult situations I have ever been in.  The following phrase absolutely breathed life into me and gave me the hope that everything would be okay…even if everything in my world fell apart:

“If kingdoms fell and waters rose,

You would still be God.

I could have anything or nothing at all,

And You would still be God.”

I cannot tell you how many times I sang those words, spoke those words, prayed those words, and focused on those words as I endured the trials that I felt were destroying me.  When my heart hurt so much I could barely breathe, these are the words that I said over and over to myself.  And guess what I discovered?  They are 100% true!  As I write this last blog in my first year of blogs, I can, without hesitation or reservation, attest to the fact that He is still God!  The trials I’ve been facing this year are not over yet…I’m still struggling to get through them.  Believing that He is still God and that He will carry me through anything is not a magic pill to make all the problems disappear!  Instead, believing that He is still God and that He will carry me through anything enables me to get out of bed each day with hope in my heart and joy that cannot be explained.  A year ago, I may have spoken the words from the portion of the song above, but I cannot say that I would have believed them with my whole heart.  But tonight, after enduring this past year, I know that I can say them with complete confidence.  No matter what…He is still God.

 

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 996 other subscribers

Archives

May

July 2012
F S S M T W T
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031