shani4jc

My Help Comes From the Lord

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Last night, my blog was about a dear friend who had received word that her dad was not doing very well and wasn’t expected to make it through the day.  At that moment, I’m sure the distance between him in Utah and her in Texas was greater than it had ever been before.  Our main prayers were for her to make it to Utah before anything happened and for her dad to be okay.  I’m sad to say that neither one of those things happened…her dad passed away while she was on a plane trying desperately to get there.  Now, she, along with her mom and her sister, have the daunting task of trying to figure out how to carry on without him.  The storm in their lives right now rages relentlessly against them! They will be bruised and battered by the waves as they try to just stay afloat.  They will feel as if they are drowning under the weight of sadness and grief.  They will be tossed to and fro like rag dolls as the storm tries to destroy them.  They will not be able to withstand this storm in one piece unless they anchor themselves onto the One who is the Anchor…and the only One who is able to calm their fears and calm the storm.  My prayer for them now is that they will grab hold of Him and hold on with everything in them!  I pray they will hold on so tightly that nothing or no one will ever be able to pry them away!  I pray that they will come to know Him in a way they’ve never known Him before.  I pray that they will feel His presence so strongly that it cannot be denied and that they will feel His arms wrapped around them as He seeks to bring them comfort and peace. There are so many Scriptures that I could use in this situation, but instead, I want to end with the lyrics to one of my favorite songs…a song that has breathed life into me as I faced my own storms!

“Praise You In This Storm” by Casting Crowns

I was sure by now God You would have reached down And wiped our tears away
 Stepped in and saved the day But once again, I say “Amen”, and it’s still raining
As the thunder rolls I barely hear Your whisper through the rain “I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls I raise my hands and praise the God who gives And takes away
[Chorus:] And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands For You are who You are No matter where I am
 And every tear I’ve cried You hold in Your hand You never left my side
And though my heart is torn I will praise You in this storm
I remember when I stumbled in the wind
You heard my cry to you
And you raised me up again
My strength is almost gone
How can I carry on If I can’t find You
But as the thunder rolls I barely hear You whisper through the rain “I’m with you”
And as Your mercy falls I raise my hands and praise the God who gives And takes away
[Chorus]
I lift my eyes unto the hills
Where does my help come from?
 My help comes from the Lord
The Maker of Heaven and Earth
[Chorus x2]
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

July 2012
F S S M T W T
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
