shani4jc

Doing Good

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Do you ever notice how God keeps putting certain Scriptures or certain themes right in front of your face when He’s trying to teach you something? Several years ago, my Scripture was Jeremiah 29:11. It seemed as if every Bible study I was doing, every sermon I heard, and every Christian item I saw pertained to that Scripture. It was driving me crazy because, at the time, I didn’t want to accept the fact that God knew the plans He had for me, but nowhere did He say in that verse that I had to know the plan! During this time, I went on a mission trip to Spain. Wouldn’t you know it…the very first church service we went to there was about Jeremiah 29:11! I couldn’t escape it, not even if I went halfway around the world. In the years since, that particular verse has become one of my absolute favorites! It brings me so much comfort and hope now because I have learned that, as long as He knows the plan, I’m okay! In the past few months, God has not been repeating a specific verse, but instead, a theme. Everywhere I turn right now I am finding  a message about serving others during times of tribulation in your life so that you can focus on something other than your own situations. When we help others, we can’t help but take our eyes off of ourselves. Often, when we look at someone else’s situation and try to help themweir own trials become dim in comparison. Sometimes, the very words we use to minister to someone else suddenly become the very message we need to hear ourselves. Sometimes helping others just keeps our minds off of our problems long enough to help us think about our situation in a new light later on. Thehollowing verse tells us two things that can help us through any difficulty…trust God and do good.  If you’re facing grim circumstances, do these two things and you may very well find your burdens have lightened and your joy has been renewed.

“Trust in the Lord and do good…” Psalm 37:3

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

June 2012
F S S M T W T
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
