shani4jc

The Real Meaning of Easter

Posted on: 7-15-112012

One of my fondest Easter memories is when my daughter, Kelcie, was 6 years old.  We had been eagerly getting ready for Easter all week.  The children all had new outfits and new shoes (if you know her at all, you know hers shoes had to have heels), they had picked out things they hoped the Easter bunny brought them in their baskets, we dyed eggs, we had practice Easter egg hunts, we watched Easter cartoons, and we read Easter books.  One of my biggest goals as their mom was to keep a bigger focus on the real meaning of Easter, while at the same time building lots of fun memories and traditions with the Easter bunny side of the holiday.  We talked a lot about Jesus and why He had to die on the cross all week.  We talked about how much God had to love us to allow Him to go to the cross.  We talked a lot about His resurrection and what that meant for us. One afternoon, I found Kelcie sitting in the middle of the living room floor with all of the Easter books about Jesus out.  I watched her from around the corner to see what she was doing.  I noticed that she was just looking through each book and then tossing it to the side.  Finally, curiosity got the best of me…I asked her what she was doing.  She said, “I’m looking for the rabbit.”  I had no idea what rabbit she was talking about.  “What rabbit are you looking for?” I asked.  She replied, “The Easter bunny…I’m looking for the Easter bunny!”  Still, I was clueless as to what she was talking about.  I thought she was looking for a specific book about the Easter bunny I had read to, so I got the other books from the basket I had them in and gave them to her.  I told her the books about the Easter bunny were still in the basket and the a books she had out were the books about Jesus.  She said, “Was the rabbit on the hill?”  At this point, I was more lost than ever.  “What hill?” I asked.  I could tell she was  getting a little impatient with my ignorance.  “I’m looking for a book that shows me the Easter bunny on the hill where Jesus died! Isn’t there a book about that?”  she asked.  “No, we don’t have a book that shows the Easter bunny on the hill where Jesus died. He wasn’t on the hill when Jesus died.” I told her.  “Then I don’t get it,” she sighed, “if the rabbit wasn’t on the hill where Jesus died, then why is he so important at Easter?”  I was stunned by this young child’s reasoning!  I was also ecstatic!  She got it!  She understood the true meaning of Easter!  And she knew what most of us can lose sight of…the Easter bunny does not have anything to do with what Jesus did on the cross!  She knew the real reason to celebrate Easter centered around Jesus and what He did for us on the cross.

“But they found the stone rolled away from the tomb.  Then they went in and did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. And it happened, as they were greatly perplexed about this, that behold, two men stood by them in shining garments.  Then, as they were afraid and bowed their faces to the earth, they said to them, ‘Why do you seek the living among the dead?  He is not here, but is risen!”  Luke 24:4-6

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

April 2012
F S S M T W T
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
