shani4jc

Dwell on the Positive

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Many of us live in defeat because we allow our thoughts to dwell on the negative things in our life.  The Word of God is very clear…we are to think on things that are positive, not the things that will bring us down.  Sounds like a good plan, but as we all know, it is much easier said than done. After all, we can’t really stop those pesky little negativities from popping into our head, can we?  We may not be able to stop them from entering our mind, but we can stop them from unpacking their bags and moving in permanently!  There are three things that God has been teaching me to do to help me think on the things that are positive and uplifting instead of negative and discouraging:

1. Ask Him at the start of the day to help me focus on the things that honor Him and breathe life into me and into those I encounter…who better help me control my thoughts than the One who gave me the ability to think at all?

2. As soon as those negative thoughts pop into my mind,  I must give them right over to God…He can handle them much better than I can!  Ask Him to remove them from my mind and replace them with good thoughts.

3. To help myself replace the negative thoughts with positive thoughts, I start thanking Him for all of the things that He has done and is doing in my life…this definitely changes my outlook and perspective.

“…casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ…”  2 Corinthians 10:5

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

March 2012
F S S M T W T
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
