shani4jc

The Gift of His Words

Posted on: 7-15-112012

Many people, myself included, can see reading God’s Word as a task that we must endure so we can check it off our “To Do” list as a Christian.  We know that we’re “supposed” to read the Bible because God instructs us to do so, so we read through a few verses or maybe even a chapter, check it off our list of things to do, and move on to our next task.  But, do we really pay attention to what we read?  Do we take time to meditate on His Words…the very Word of the Living God?  Do we soak in the words like a sponge soaks in water?  Do we allow His Word to saturate into our very soul and transform us?  Do we allow His Word to bring healing to our broken hearts or joy to mourning soul? Do we allow His Word to speak to our hearts of His unfailing love when we are so undeserving of that love or when we need it the most?  Do we find hope in His Words when our world is without hope? His Word is not just a task to be completed…it’s one of the greatest gifts He’s given us.  We shouldn’t just read it to read it and move on…we should allow it to become our very lifeline to living.

“Oh, how I love Your law!  It is my meditation all the day.  You, through Your commandments, make me wiser than my enemies; for they are ever with me.  I have more understanding than all my teachers for Your testimonies are my meditation.  I understand more than the ancients because I keep Your precepts.”  Psalm 119:97-100

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 996 other subscribers

Archives

May

March 2012
F S S M T W T
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031