shani4jc

Ready to Rescue Us

Posted on: 7-15-112012

It’s basketball season at our house, so basketball is a hot topic of conversation on a daily basis.  The other day my husband was sharing a story about our oldest daughter’s early basketball days with someone and it reminded me about God’s protection over us.  When my daughter was young, she played basketball for our church.  At one particular game, she had to guard a player that was a good 4 – 5 inches taller than her and a couple of years older.  The girl would’ve had no problem shooting over my daughter due to their height difference, but she always shot from her chest.  She would tuck those arms by her side, place the ball right at her chest, and then would try to shoot the ball.  Because she placed the ball at her chest level, she gave my daughter the ability to block her shot.  After being blocked several times by the much smaller and younger player, the girl became very frustrated.  You could see the anger and agitation building with each block.  Finally, the girl had had all she could take.  She held the ball in both hands, put it as far behind her head as possible, and slammed that ball as hard as she could into my daughter’s forehead.  To say everyone in the gym was stunned is an absolute understatement!  Mouths dropped to the floor as people tried to process what had just happened.  There were two people who did not have to process what had just happened, however…her daddy and me. My husband, who was the coach, immediately started running over to my daughter.  Then he saw something that stopped him in his tracks…me!  He said that, out of the corner of his eye, he saw a flash flying off of the bleachers from about 10 rows up.  I don’t know how I got down those 10 rows of bleachers, but I got down in a split second and was running across the court.  My husband said, “I’ve got it.  I’ve got it.”  At that point, I didn’t care who “had it”, I just knew I had to get to my daughter and see if she was okay.  Fortunately, she was fine!  Her forehead was very red and you could see the imprint of the ball across her head, but she got up, shook it off, and continued to play. In much the same way, we have a Father who watches over us and will do anything to protect us.  He knows every single time you and I have been hurt, whether physically, emotionally, or mentally by someone else.  No injustice to His children goes unnoticed.  His eyes are upon us every second of every day.  And He is willing to do much more than jump down 10 rows of bleachers to save us.

 

“Because you have made the Lord, who is my refuge, even the Most High, your dwelling place, no evil shall befall you.  Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling; For He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways.  In their hands they shall bear you up, lest you dash your foot against a stone.”  Psalm 91: 9-12

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

March 2012
F S S M T W T
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
