shani4jc

Laughter is the Best Medicine

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Tonight I received a very special birthday surprise…my husband and best friend arranged for her to make a trip to Louisiana from Texas to visit me for the weekend!  We haven’t been able to spend a lot of time together in quite a while, so this was definitely a special treat for us.  When I lived in Texas, we were basically inseparable, so our move to another state was very hard on us.  Anyway, we spent some time catching up on what’s new in our lives, but even better was the time we spent reminiscing about old times.  Over the years, my son has supplied us with enough funny stories to keep us laughing from now on.  There were several times in his life that he had us laughing so hard we cried or were desperate to find a restroom because if we didn’t, we were going to be in big trouble.  Tonight was no exception…as we lived some of his antics, we laughed and laughed and laughed.  After a very long week, it was exactly what I needed to relieve some stress and revitalize my spirit.  As I thought about our laughter, I realized that laughter is one of those gifts from God that I take for granted…one that I don’t usually see as a blessing…one that I don’t thank Him for enough…one that I would miss greatly if I did not have it in my life!

“A merry heart does good like medicine, but a broken spirit dries the bones.”  Proverbs 17:22

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

November 2011
F S S M T W T
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
