shani4jc

A Child is Born

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Today is my daughter, Kelcie’s, 18th birthday.  As she joyfully embraces adulthood, I can’t help but reminisce about the day she was born.  I can remember it just like it was yesterday!  I remember the moment I heard her first cry, the moment the doctor said, “It’s a girl!”, and the moment that they placed her in her daddy’s arms and he just stood there spellbound looking at his little girl.  I remember him bringing her over to me and showing her off.  I had a C-section, so I couldn’t hold her just yet, but he wanted me to get a good look at our new addition.  I remember that from the very beginning she was always very alert…her eyes were wide open and she was taking it all in.  And I remember that she seemed incredibly fascinated when people talked to her.  It was as if she was studying their mouths and how their mouth worked to get words out.  From day one, she seemed to try to talk as well.  We all got a big kick out of her those first few days as she moved her lips around and put her tongue in and out, trying to make it all work.  It was no surprise that she started cooing very quickly, and by the time she was one, she could hold a full blown conversation with anyone that would talk to her.  Eighteen years later, she still loves to talk! As I’m thinking about all of this, I can also remember holding her for the first time and just looking down into that beautiful little face!  As all parents do, I wanted nothing but the best for this sweet little angel!  There would be no sacrifice too great for her! I knew that I would do anything to protect her because she was my baby, my little girl…and she meant the world to me.  I have to wonder how God must’ve felt when Jesus was born.  What emotions swept over Him as He looked into the face of His son, His little boy…the One who meant the world to Him?  Whereas I thought that there would be no sacrifice too great for my little girl, did He think that His little boy would be the greatest sacrifice ever given?  Whereas I thought that I wanted to give my baby the best, did He think that His Son was the best that would ever be given?  Whereas I thought that I would do anything I could to give my daughter the world, did He think about giving His Son for the world?  Whereas I thought that I would do anything to protect her and keep her from pain and suffering, did He think about the fact that He would have to turn His back on Jesus as He endured the worst pain and suffering ever to be endured?  I cannot even begin to fathom what it cost the Father to give His only Son for us!  I know that I couldn’t sacrifice my child for people I love, much less for my enemies, but that is exactly what God did!  He sacrificed His Son for people who did not love Him, that would reject Him, that would not even acknowledge Him…for His enemies!  Never underestimate or take for granted the price that was paid for you!  Think about what it cost God to show His love for you!  You are priceless to Him…and He paid the ultimate price for you!

“And she brought forth her firstborn Son and wrapped Him in swaddling cloths, and laid Him in a manger, because there was no room in the inn.”  Luke 2:7

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

November 2011
F S S M T W T
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
