shani4jc

Drink Deeply

Posted on: 7-15-112011

One of our cats will only drink running water from our bathroom sink or bubbling from a fountain we have in our yard. I think he would just about rather die from dehydration than to drink water from a bowl. I usually think it’s quite funny because he will let the water run all over his head as he drinks (guess he didn’t get the memo that cats don’t like water) until he stops drinking and flings water from his head all over the mirror! Then, it’s nor so funny! Nor is it funny when he gets in the sink wanting water when I’m brushing my teeth! You would think I could just shove him away, but he’s very determined to have his own way! Sometimes, as much as I hate to admit it, I can be just like my cat! God’s Word can be the very wellspring of life, but I refuse to drink of it because it’s not just how I like it! I can drink deep when His Word is easy and doesn’t require too much from me, but when it gets difficult or starts requiring me to change or sacrifice, then I’d just as soon not have any part of it! I would almost rather risk dying of “dehydration” than to drink from the Word that challenges me and causes me to change! However, when I truly get desperate enough for God, I will drink no matter what! And that’s when we discover that the most refreshing drink comes from the deepest well…the well you once didn’t want any part of!

“…but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him will never thirst. But the water that I shall give him will become in him a fountain of water springing up into everlasting life.” John 4:14

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

October 2011
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
