shani4jc

Recognizing His Voice

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Sometimes when you are trying to make a decision, it can be extremely difficult to discern between all the voices you hear in your mind. You are trying to follow God, but it seems as if you cannot tell which voice is His, which is Satan, and which is your own self speaking. You want to make the right decision and follow Him, but you’re paralyzed from making any decision for fear of making the wrong decision. This happens to me a lot! One thing I heard a long time ago that I try to remind myself of during times like these is that He is my Shepherd and I am His sheep. Now, sheep are not necessarily the smartest animal there is…in fact, they are usually considered quite dumb(kinda humbling to think that we are compared to sheep so often in Scripture isn’t it?). However, one thing that sheep have going for them, in spite of their ignorance, is that they always recognize the voice of their shepherd. So, if sheep know the voice of their shepherd, we, too, should know the voice of our Shepherd! If we listen closely, we will know His voice above all others. When I’m really struggling trying to discern between all of the opposing voices I hear, I remind myself who that I am a sheep, that He’s my Shepherd, and I can only recognize His voice. Works every single time!

“And when he brings out his own sheep, he goes before them; and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. Yet they will by no means follow a stranger, but will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of the strangers.”
John 10:4-5

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

October 2011
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
