shani4jc

The Example of Christ

Posted on: 7-15-112011

I saw the following message on a church sign recently:

“It’s Hard to Stumble When You’re on Your Knees”

We would probably agree with that statement, but do we really believe that? Do we really believe that there is power when we kneel before our Savior in prayer? Most of us would say we do, but then arises the question, “How often do
we really kneel before God and pray?” I confess that I do not do that hardly ever. I pray, but I don’t necessarily take the time to be that disciplined in my prayer life. I tend to pray in a more on-the-go fashion…usually when I’m driving. Now, don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with that kind of praying, but I know that for myself, when I do make the effort to pray on my knees or even face down before God, I feel God’s presence even stronger than ever. When Jesus prayed in the Garden, Scripture records that He’s on His knees. I believe that if that’s how He prayed during the most difficult time of His life, then I better learn by His example.

“And He was withdrawn from them a stone’s throw, and He knelt down and prayed…” Luke 22:42

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

October 2011
F S S M T W T
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
