shani4jc

A Work in Progress

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Do you ever wonder what God could possibly see in you that would cause Him to choose you to be His child? I do! I sometimes look at myself and am amazed that He hasn’t given up on me yet. I mean when I’m really honest with myself, I know I have absolutely nothing to offer Him except myself and I’m not exactly a lot to work with. I am just a sinner saved by the grace of my Savior! I struggle eery single day with my own wicked and evil ways. I choose myself over Him more often than not. At the very root of my heart is not a heart like Christ, but a heart full of pride and selfishness. I do not love unconditionally and sacrificially as I should, but am judgmental and self-righteous. As Paul wrote in Romans 7:15, I do the things I know I shouldn’t and I don’t the things I know I should. On my very best day, I am so far from what I should be that it scares me. So, again, I have to wonder why God, in His infinite wisdom, with His all-knowing nature, would choose me to be His child! And every single time I ask Him that question, I get the same answer from Him. He always reminds me that He loves because of who He is, not based on what I do and He also reminds me that He also sees the whole picture…He sees the me that He created me to be! He knows that I’m a work in progress! And He is the One doing the work!

“being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.” Philippians 1:6

I read this quote by Ruth Graham Bell concerning a suggestion she had for her epitaph and thought it was very fitting for today’s blog:

“End of construction. Thank you for your patience.”

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 985 other followers

Archives

May

August 2011
F S S M T W T
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
