shani4jc

Stuck in the Mud

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Today we were traveling down Interstate 12 in Louisiana. Suddenly, traffic slowed down to a halt. We thought there had been a wreck, but it turned out that everyone was slowing down to look at an 18-wheeler that had run off the road and had gotten stuck in the mud. It’s been raining a lot here for the past several days, so the ground is very soft and very muddy. This poor driver had managed to get himself bogged down in mud that covered most of his front driver side wheel. I felt really bad for him, but I couldn’t help but laugh as we passed because he was steadily trying to wipe all the mud off the rest of the wheel. I wondered what good he thought he was doing by trying to wipe the mud off the part of the wheel that was sticking out while the rest of it was buried in mud. It seemed crazy to me until it hit me that sometimes I do the very same thing. Sometimes my heart can be buried in the mud and muck of my sin, but I am busy trying to keep everything on the outside nice and clean so that the outside world doesn’t see the real mess I’m in. We can all put on the right clothes, say the right things,
and put the smile on our face so that no one sees what we’re really like on the inside. The truth of the matter is,
however, that until we deal with the real problem of our sin, we will be just as stuck as the 18- wheeler…we will not be going anywhere…no matter how clean the rest of us
appears to the world. And even if we fool the rest of the world, we will never fool God…He knows how deep we’re buried in the mire! He knows the real us…the one we don’t
let anyone else see. And even at our worst, He loves us! He reaches down into the muck and mire and pulls us out! He can rescue us no matter how deep we’re buried! All we have to do is let Him!

“He brought me up out of a horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my steps.” Psalm 40:2

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

