shani4jc

Victory is Certain

Posted on: 7-15-112011

There’s a lot of talk going on at my house about the NBA play-offs.  My son is adamant that the Miami Heat will win the championship, but my husband and I are rooting for the Dallas Mavericks to be victorious.  Now, I will be the first to confess that I have not watched basketball all year and I couldn’t tell you more than one or two players’ names from each team in the championship (and I only know those because basketball is my son’s favorite subject), but I’m still rooting for the Mavericks.  And it’s not because they’re from Texas, like me.  I am rooting for the Mavericks for one very simple reason…they are the underdogs!  I have heard enough from ESPN to know that Miami is favored win and win big!  However, as of right now, the series is tied 2-2 and each game has gone right down to the wire.  I really don’t think people were expecting Dallas to be as big a competitor as they are to the “younger and more talented” team.  So, even though I’m not much of a fan, I am rooting for the “older and less talented” team.  Last night, when they won the game after coming from behind, I couldn’t help but be excited for them.  They had been behind, but didn’t give up.  They just kept on giving it all they had, and finally, victory was theirs.  In much the same way, Christians seem to be the underdog in the battle we’re fighting against Satan and his forces.  Each day it seems as if he gains a little more victory over us and winning the war can appear to be slipping out of our hand.  However, just like the Mavericks, we have to keep on fighting the good fight!  We cannot give up, no matter how far ahead the enemy is!  Now, I do not know what the outcome will be between Miami and Dallas, but I do know the outcome between us and Satan!  If we are in Christ, the victory has already been won!

“And fire came down from God out of heaven and devoured them.  The devil, who deceived them, was cast into the lake of fire and brimstone where the beast and the false prophet are.  And they will be tormented day and night forever and ever.”  Revelation 20:9-10

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

June 2011
F S S M T W T
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
