shani4jc

Dying of Thirst

Posted on: 7-15-112011

A few days ago I wrote about my cat accompanying me on a walk and what God revealed to me through that experience.  Well, today, my kitten decided to join us on our outing.  When he heard us leaving, he came running around the house, meowing as loudly as he could.  He wasn’t about to be left behind today.  So, I ended up setting off with both cats.  (My husband said he wish he would’ve seen me…he thinks it would be hilarious to see someone walking with a cat on each side of them!) We made it up and down the block once with no problem and when we passed our house, the kitten ran happily into the yard…probably thinking he was glad to be back at home.  When I kept going, he started meowing and raced back out to the street.  I felt kinda sorry for him…his little legs were having a hard time keeping up, but he did the best he could.  Twice more we made it up and down the block! Now, the total distance I walk is a little over two miles, so for a little fellow like him, the journey had to be incredibly long.  When I made my final turn to go home, I looked down at him and my heart was utterly filled with compassion for him.  He was breathing as fast as he could, his tongue was almost dragging the ground, and he looked up at me in desperation.  He was exhausted!  I scooped him up and carried him all the way into the house, where I sat him at his water bowl.  He drank until I thought he would explode.  He was so thirsty!  As I watched him, I had to wonder how many people I come into contact with each day that are completely parched spiritually.  How many are doing everything they can to keep up and are exhausted? How many are looking in desperation for someone to help them?  How many are looking for someone to lead them to the Living Water…the only Water that will truly quench their thirst?

“And Jesus said to them, ‘I am the bread of life.  He who comes to Me shall never hunger, and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.” John 6:35

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

June 2011
F S S M T W T
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
