shani4jc

Oh Ye of Little Faith

Posted on: 7-15-112011

A couple of days ago I wrote about one of my Hurricane Rita experiences, which reminded me of the one I want to share today.  As we prepared to evacuate for the storm, I was rushing madly around my house, trying to decide what to take and what to leave behind.  As I was loading the last things in the car, I noticed that my kids were all noticeably absent.  When I went to see what they were doing,  I couldn’t believe my eyes…they were making signs on poster boards to hang on the house.  The signs basically were telling Hurricane Rita to go away because we were protected by God and my favorite one said, “I’m not afraid of the storm because I know Who controls the storm.”  They were so proud of their signs!  They told me that they were hanging them on the house to protect the house from the hurricane.  In their minds, when the hurricane came through, it would obviously skip over our house because it would read the signs and know that we were protected by God.  I was very impressed!  Then, things got even better…they hung the signs on the house, in the windows, and off the porch rails with Scotch tape…not packing tape, just regular tape.  I didn’t have the heart to tell them that the tape would not hold because it wasn’t strong enough.  I just let them do their thing.  I forgot about the signs until a couple of days later when one of them said, “Well of course our house is okay…we hung the signs on it.”  My heart was broken for them…the storm had passed right over our house and we didn’t know if it was okay or not.  But, from the damage we had seen on TV, it looked as if we would have some damage at least, if not extensive damage.  We could not get back to our house for a couple of weeks.  Once again, I forgot about the signs.  When we were finally able to go see our house, the kids reminded me the house was okay because we had signs on it.  My oldest then asked me to save the signs so we would always remember how God protected our house.  I absolutely dreaded going home.  In my extensive wisdom, I knew those signs were long gone.  Their had been major tornadoes all over our area.  The storm had passed right over us.  How would I explain this to my kids?  Well, I was the one to be surprised because when we turned into our driveway, God absolutely blew me away!  Every single sign was still there…a couple just where they had taped them and a few fallen onto the ground near where they had been placed.  I couldn’t believe it!  There was just no way to explain how those signs had survived the wrath of that storm except that God had placed His very hand on them and spared them.  We did receive some damage to our home, but not nearly the damage that all of our neighbors received.  All around us, people had been hit by what appeared to have been a tornado…all of their trees and flowers were completely twisted like a corkscrew.  But at our house, the trees and flowers were just fine.  I was very humbled by this experience…it was my kids who taught me a lesson about faith.  They never doubted…they only believed! 

“… for assuredly I say to you, if you have the faith as a mustard seed, you will say to the mountain,’Move from here to there’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.”

One last thing before I go…I saw this quote about faith in a book the other day and I love it:

“Faith is not our responsibility…faith is our response to God’s ability.”

1 Response to "Oh Ye of Little Faith"

I love that last quote! What book is it from? I’m going to put it up at work…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

June 2011
F S S M T W T
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
