shani4jc

My Battery’s Dead

Posted on: 7-15-112011

This morning was a busy morning, much like any other.  I dropped my son off at work, ran to the ATM to get him some money for lunch, and then ran back to drop off his money.  Then, I would be ready to head off to work myself.  However, my truck had plans of its own.  When I went to start the truck, it was completely dead.  I couldn’t understand it…it had started just fine every other time this morning.  It hadn’t given me any indication that the battery was about to go out.  Yet, there I was…with a truck that was not going to start no matter what I did.  I sat there for a minute, hoping that it was some fluke thing and it would start in a minute.  Ieven prayed the whole time I sat there, but apparently God and the truck were in this together because it still wouldn’t start.  Finally, after making different arrangements for transportation, I was able to head off to get my day started.  As I was thinking about the battery,  I realized that sometimes I am just like my truck.  I have put in all the miles I can and my battery is completely drained as well.  I cannot go on any longer without help.  And just as easily as I can go and purchase a new battery for my truck, I can go to my Savior and receive renewed energy and strength to go on.  He invites us to come and let Him give us rest…all we have to do is come!

 

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and My burden in light.”  Matthew 11:28 – 30

1 Response to "My Battery’s Dead"

I read these almost every day and when I don’t I double up! Thank you for you wisdom, insight and courage. You continue to touch my life. I miss you and love you. Thank you Shani!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

June 2011
F S S M T W T
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
