shani4jc

His Words Are Like Medicine

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Yesterday, I heard a story on the radio that I want to share with you.  It was a story about a mom and her two children who were taking a walk at their local park.  As they walked, they came upon a baby duck that was dead.  The two-year old little girl said to her mom, “That baby ducky is dead, Momma.”  Her mother looked at her and told her she was right.  The little girl said, “He needs medicine.”  Her mom responded that the only One who could help the baby duck now was Jesus.  The little girl said, “Does Jesus have medicine?”  Her five-year old brother spoke up and said, “Yes, Jesus has medicine.  His Words are medicine.”  How very amazing! This five-year old has already grasped a concept most never understand.  As I thought about this story, it reminded me of a time when our dog got hit by a car.  I had taken all three kids on a neighborhood walk.  They were about 5, 3, and 2 at the time.  Amy was riding her bike, while I pulled Kelcie and Noah in the wagon.  Our dog, Sissy, had joined us on our adventure.  As we approached a very busy intersection, we all stopped at the stop sign before crossing, but the dog spotted a cat across the intersection and just darted out without hesitation.  Before I could even react, a car going about 45m.p.h.  hit the dog and he flew about 30 feet down the road and rolled onto the side of someone’s yard.  The car didn’t even stop.  At first I was so stunned I didn’t know what to do.  As we raced over to the dog, I could see he wasn’t moving. I just knew he was dead.  I didn’t want to further traumatize my kids by letting them any closer to the dog, so I told them we needed to go get the car.  We went home as quickly as possible.  I was trying to get a hold of my friend around the corner so I could drop my kids off there before going to get the dog.  Kelcie could tell I was upset, so she looked up at me with the most innocent eyes and said, “Don’t cry, Momma! I asked Jesus to tell Sissy to get up and walk home, so she’ll be here in a minute.” My heart broke into a million pieces!  How was I going to explain to this sweet little girl that her dog was not coming home because he was dead? Finally, after I couldn’t get my friend, I loaded the kids into the car and drove back to where the dog had been laying.  I prayed fervently for the dog to at least be alive so I could take her to the vet, but even more than that, I prayed for God to give me the words to explain to Kelcie that God doesn’t always answer our prayers in the way we want.  When we arrived, the dog was gone!  I couldn’t believe it! I knew that dog had not gotten up on her own, so I figured someone had already picked her up and disposed of her.  Kelcie said, “See, Momma! Jesus told Sissy to get up! She’ll be at home before us.” I was just sick over this…what would I say when that dog was not there.  When I turned the corner, my heart almost leapt out of my chest!  Sitting right in the middle of our driveway sat Sissy!  Kelcie was right…she did get home before us! We jumped out of the car and ran over to her.  As I inspected her body, I could not believe my eyes!  There was not a single scratch on that dog, nor was there a drop of blood!  As I watched her play with the kids, she didn’t even act as if anything had happened to her.  I just kept thinking about Kelcie’s words to me and how I had learned a valuable lesson from her that day.  The words of Jesus are indeed medicine…they do bring healing!  No matter what you’re facing today, let His Words pour over you and heal you from whatever is ailing you!

“Then they cried out to the Lord i their trouble, and He saved them out of their distresses. He sent His Word and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions.” Psalm 107:19-20

1 Response to "His Words Are Like Medicine"

What incredible faith Kelcie showed! That is a great reminder of how we are to have faith like a child. They believe without question. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

June 2011
F S S M T W T
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
