shani4jc

The Roaring Lion

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Yesterday, I wrote about my cat going walking with me. Today, I want to share something else that my cat reminded me of after the walk. When we returned home, I refilled my bird feeders and then sat down on my porch to do my Bible study. I was quickly distracted because my yard was suddenly overrun with birds of al kinds. I guess word had spread quickly that there was a free buffet at my house. Some of the birdseed had fallen on the ground, so there were a lot of birds eating off the ground. Suddenly, I noticed my cat crouched down in the grass, slowly easing himself toward the birds. Now, let me give you a little background knowledge of this cat. He’s not really our cat…he sort of moved in with us when we moved to the house we built. He really belongs to the people three houses down, but for whatever reason, he has adopted us. The lady he belonged to said she didn’t really mind because he killed all the birds in her yard and she didn’t like that. His nickname is Killer because just about everyday he has killed something and placed it on the porch for me…birds, rats, and even rabbits. So, this is not a cat to be toyed with. I had to wonder if the birds were unaware of the imminent danger they were in or if they knew and just weren’t concerned about it because they thought they could escape. I realized as I watched to see what would happen, that I am very often like those birds. I have an enemy that lurks around, just waiting for an opportunity to attack me and destroy me. Sometimes I’m unaware that danger even lurks near me and sometimes I just
don’t pay it too much attention because I think I can escape without harm.

“Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy, the devil, prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” 1 Peter 5:8

Just in case you’re wondering…I took Killer inside so the birds could eat in peace…I wonder how many times God has removed Satan from our path in order to protect us…more than we could even count, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

May 2011
F S S M T W T
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
