shani4jc

Running the Race

Posted on: 7-15-112011

This morning I went walking as I often do. However, today I had a companion on my journey that I’ve never had before. My cat decided that he would go with me. He would keep up with me for a while, then get tired or distracted by a bird or something else that caught his eye. I would find him laying alongside the road and end up passing him by when I returned in the other direction. After I passed him, he would jump up, run past me, and then look back at me as if to say, “what’s taking you so long?”. We continued this pattern for the whole three times I walked my street. Finally, he had enough. He just laid down in the middle of the street. I kept going. When I rounded the last curve before I arrived at my house, he jumped up when he saw me coming. He ran up to me and I just had to pick him up and carry him the rest of the way. His purrs let me know how much he loved and appreciated me. I couldnt help but praise him for his efforts to run the race with me. I didn’t criticize him for laying down or getting distracted. He is, after all, only a cat. As I was thinking about him, I realized that I’m a lot like him. I start out walking with God, then I get tired or distracted by something that catches my eye. Then, I want to race past God and ask what’s taking Him so long. Eventually, I get so exhausted, that I just lay down. But, I know that when I see my Savior coming, I can jump up and run to Him. He will pick me up and carry me home. And like I did for my cat, He will praise my efforts to run the race with Him, and He will not point out when I laid down or got distracted. He remembers well that
I’m only a human.

“Do you not know that in a race only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.”. 1 Corinthians 9:24

1 Response to "Running the Race"

I just HAVE to meet this cat of yours!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 984 other followers

Archives

May

May 2011
F S S M T W T
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
