shani4jc

In The Shelter of His Wings

Posted on: 7-15-112011

Blue jays are my special sign from God. Each time I see one, it reminds me that God is watching over me and that He is present in my life. Over the past few years, blue jays have shown up in some of the strangest places, but always with perfect timing. Sometimes the reason for their appearance is very clear to me, but sometimes, I think they are just God’s way of saying, “I love you!” One of my favorite blue jay stories happened when I was preparing to move to another state. I was apprehensive about the move and had been asking God to show me that He was right there with me. Anyway,I went to take the trash out to the street and discovered that there was a baby bird in our neighbor’s yard. It had fallen out of its nest. Of course, I set out to save it. Suddenly, its daddy showed up! He was having no part of me getting near his baby. He ran around that baby, squawking loudly to let me know I was not welcome. Naturally, I inched closer. The next thing that daddy blue jay did was so precious…he spread his wings over his baby and looked me right in the eyes as if to say,”I dare you to take one more step.” This reminds me of how God, our daddy, protects us. He spreads His wings and dares anyone to come one step closer! I knew then that God would protect me no matter what came my way…even if I was in another state.

“For you have been a refuge for me and a strong tower from the enemy. I will dwell in Your tabernacle forever; I will trust in the shelter of Your wings.” Psalm 61:3-4

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

May 2011
F S S M T W T
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
