shani4jc

Making God Smile

Posted on: 7-15-112011

This morning at church, my pastor issued the charge to “live a life that will make God smile.”  What an incredible thought…that we can make God smile!! He went on to tell us what kind of life makes God smile…an obedient life, a life that does its best to honor Him (even when it’s hard), and a life that seeks to serve Him and others.  I do not tend to think of God sitting on His throne in heaven looking down on me and smiling when I do well, but I should because He is my Father, and that’s what parents do…they smile at their children when they do well.  Parents also offer smiles to encourage and support when the going gets tough…God does the same!!  Parents also smile when their children have made bad choices and have recognized that fact and are ready to correct their behavior…the smile that says, “it’s okay…I still love you!  I am still here, and I am going to help you!”  God does that too! 

“The Lord your God in your midst, the Mighty One will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you in His love; He will rejoice over you with singing.”  Zepheniah 3:17

This is one of my favorite verses…just to think that my Savior rejoices over me with gladness is amazing! The fact that He will quiet me in His love when life is raging around me is priceless.  The fact that He sings over me is one of the sweetest pictures of God that I can even imagine!  What an amazing Father He is to us!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 981 other followers

Archives

May

May 2011
F S S M T W T
    Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
